Our Research Databases

Please Note: The Gale and Britannica databases are from NOVELNY (New York Online Electronic Library). NOVELNY is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York State Library. It is currently a project funded through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the New York State Library by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). Please report any broken links to contactus@westburylibrary.org

Agriculture

Gale OneFile: Agriculture
Access to current and authoritative content from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

Art, Music, & Culture

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
Resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course.

Business and Finance

Gale OneFile: Business
A comprehensive collection of business, trade, and international publications.

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily.

Business Insights: Essentials
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

Cooking

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
Includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic Edition
- World Atlas: Search thousands of maps, flags, articles and statistics in this interactive World Atlas.
- Compare Countries: A unique geography tool that give you quick facts and statistics on any two countries side-by-side.
- World Data Analyst: Comprehensive statistics on every nation of the world. Perform statistical comparisons between countries or explore changes over time.

Education and Careers

Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete
Provides access to academic journals, reports, and premier educational reference sources including the following subjects: administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
Provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.

Gale OneFile: Information Science
Provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field. Information professionals and other knowledge workers – from the research specialist to the information architect.

Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
All aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered in this collection.

Gale OneFile: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

General Research

Gale Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Gale Academic: OneFile Select
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers – many with full text and images!

Novelist
A readers’ advisory database with full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles. Searches can be made for children’s, young adult and adult levels.

Health

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals.

Gale OneFile: Health and Wellness
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.

Health Reference Center
Includes comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors.

History

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Both the historian and reporter on the frontline will find useful information in this collection, composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.

Gale OneFile: U.S. History
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

Gale in Context: U.S. History
Provides a complete overview of America’s past, events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people, including materials from sources such as The New York Times, National Geographic, and NPR.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.

Gale OneFile: World History
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

Gale in Context: World History
Coverage from the ancient world to today’s headlines, including primary sources, reliable references and multimedia content collected for students and researchers.

Home and Garden

Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
This collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement
A collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters for coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Literature and Languages

Gale Literature: Books and Authors
Gale Books and Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics.

Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
Scribner Writer Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works.

Pronunciator
Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations including ESL instruction for 50 non-English languages.

Law and Legal Issues

Gale OneFile: LegalForms
Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge.

Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
Covers such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

NuWav Legal Documents
Provide documents that meet the needs of the everyday citizen. Easily compose documents in categories like Business, Contracts, Landlord/Tenant disputes, Divorce and much more.

Magazines and Newspapers

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Popular Magazines includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons, and is 100% full-text.

Gale OneFile: News
This database is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.

Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

New York State Newspapers
Includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post and Newsday.

Psychology

Gale OneFile: Psychology
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops — and diminishes — over time.

Religion

Gale OneFile: Religion & Philosophy
Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Science and Technology

Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Gale OneFile: Science
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Gale in Context: Science
Supports high school curricula and university coursework, contains authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from obesity to endangered species.

Social Issues

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
This collection covers such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Issues Collection
A collection of authoritative periodicals and scholarly journals.

Referencia en Español (Spanish Databases)

Britannica Escolar (both levels)
Un excelente recurso digital en español que ayuda a enriquecer el aprendizaje de los estudiantes de primaria y secundaria.

Britannica Escolar Primaria
Buscar biografias e informacion sobre lugares y cosas, mir los videos y animaciones para aprender mas.

Britannica Escolar Secundaria
Ecuentra respuestas rapidas y ayuda con la tarea, explora los videos y articulos sobre personas y lugares famosos, y descubre mapas, fotos e illustraciones para proyectos escolares.

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Si quieres hacer un informe académico para tu profesor, aprende a hacer uno con este modelo de informe académico y lo que necesita este tipo de informes.

ProCitizen
El Examen de Naturalización (The Naturalization Interview and Test)
Una base de datos que ayuda a los usuarios a prepararse para el Examen de naturalización / ciudadanía de EE. UU. mediante el uso de videos y cuestionarios. Está disponible en inglés y español.